Your handle, your posts, your followers. Outgrow a server? Move and take everyone with you. No lock-in, no starting over.
Patently not true, every server you sign up for is a different account and if you move servers you make an entirely new account there that cannot edit any of your posts, comments, or DMs; there is no method of transfer outside of some external tools that allow you to move your follow lists, which typically need to be the same service (can’t move your Lemmy communities to Mastodon follows last I looked).
Also anyone following you does not automatically follow your new identity.
TBH this is something that ActivityPub was not designed for, but it should be.
Patently not true, every server you sign up for is a different account and if you move servers you make an entirely new account there that cannot edit any of your posts, comments, or DMs; there is no method of transfer outside of some external tools that allow you to move your follow lists, which typically need to be the same service (can’t move your Lemmy communities to Mastodon follows last I looked).
Also anyone following you does not automatically follow your new identity.
TBH this is something that ActivityPub was not designed for, but it should be.